Srilanka captain, coach and manager suspended for four ODIs and two Tests

The ICC, today handed Sri Lanka captain Dinesh Chandimal, coach Chandika Hathurusinghe and manager Asanka Gurusinha eight suspension points, which means the trio have also been suspended for the first four ODIs along with both the Tests against South Africa. The suspension points were handed by independent Judicial Commissioner, Michael Beloff QC following a marathon six-hour hearing over video link last Wednesday.

The three were charged by the ICC Chief Executive David Richardson on 19 June and had pleaded guilty to breaching Level 3, Article 2.3.1, which relates to “conduct that is contrary to the spirit of the game”, for refusing to take to the field on the third day of the second Test against West Indies after umpires informed Chandimal he had been charged with ball tampering.

The Chairman of the ICC Code of Conduct Commission had held a hearing over video conference on Wednesday, 11 July, to determine the sanction, and, after more than six hours of hearing, which was attended by legal counsels of both the sides, had reserved his decision.

During the hearing, however, it was mutually agreed that, since the minimum sanction for a Level 3 offence was suspension from two Tests, the three will not participate in the Galle Test (played from 12-14 July) and Colombo Test (to be played from 20-24 July), and these will be credited against the sanction imposed by the Judicial Commissioner.

As eight suspension points equate to a ban from two Tests and four ODIs/T20Is or eight ODIs/T20Is, whatever comes first for the player or player support personnel, the Judicial Commissioner’s ruling means the three will also remain suspended for the Dambulla ODIs (29 July and 1 August) as well as the Kandy ODIs (5 and 8 August).

Sri Lanka Cricket has confirmed that it will not impose further punishment relating to the incident. In March, Cricket Australia handed down lengthy bans to Steve Smith, Cameron Bancroft and David Warner on top of the punishments from the ICC given to Smith and Bancroft for the ball-tampering incident in Cape Town.