The Wall- Rahul Dravid inducted in ICC hall of Fame

Former Indian and Australian captains Rahul Dravid and Ricky Ponting have been inducted into the International Cricket Council Hall of Fame on Sunday. ICC Women’s cricketer of 2009 and first women to be named Wisden Cricketer of the year- Claire Taylor was also the newest addition to the ICC Hall of Fame.

Dravid is only the fifth Indian to be inducted in the ICC Hall of Fame. Sunil Gavaskar, Kapil Dev, Bishan Singh Bedi and Anil Kumble are the others. Dravid has scored 13,288 runs in 164 Tests with 36 centuries and 10,889 runs in 344 ODIs with 12 centuries. He also holds the record for the most catches (210) in Tests and most deliveries faced- 31,258.

Ponting is the second highest run-scorer, only behind Sachin Tendulkar with 13,378 runs . He is the third highest run getter in ODIs behind Tendulkar and Kumar Sangakkara with 13,704 runs. He captained Australia in two World Cup victories in 2003 and 2007. He is the 25th Australian player to find a place in the Hall of Fame.

Taylor is just the seventh women’s player and third from England to become a Hall-of-famer. She is just one of the four players to score more than 1000 runs in Tests and 4000 runs in Women’s ODIs. Taylor was named player of the tournament in the Women’s World Cup in 2009 and was also instrumental in Women’s World T20 win in England.

Whom does ICC recognise? 

ICC Hall of Fame recognises the achievements of the legends of the game from cricket’s long and illustrious history. A total of 81 players have been inducted so far. 28 are from England, 25 from Australia and 18 from West Indies, while 5 each from India and Pakistan. Allan BorderIan BothamAdam GilchristRichard HadleeImran KhanBrian LaraDennis LilleeGlenn McGrathMuttiah Muralitharan, Viv Richards ,Shane Warne, Wasim Akram and Steve Waugh are some of the legends conferred with the hall of Fame.