Lok Sabha Speaker Accepts No-confidence Motion Against NDA Govt

New Delhi : 

Lok Sabha Speaker Sumitra Mahajan has today accepted the No-confidence motion against the NDA government moved by TDP’s Kesineni Srinivas. The discussion on the motion will take place on Friday. This is for the first time in 15 years that a no-confidence motion has been moved and accepted in Lok Sabha.

The motion was moved by the TDP, Congress and NCP which amounts to more than 50 opposition MP’s. The opposition  claims that the Modi government have totally failed on the issues of farmers, unemployment, women saftey, mob lynching, ‘misrule’ in Jammu and Kashmir, dilution of dalit atrocity law etc. and wants to discuss these issues in the ongoing Monsoon session.

At the start of the session today, Narendra Modi said that the government is ready for discussion on issues necessary in national interest. He urged political parties to make use of the time available in the session till 10 August.

Parliamentary affairs minister Ananth Kumar said that the government is ready to face the no- confidence motion as it enjoys a two-third majority in the house.

Earlier, the members of TDP had quit NDA, protesting against the government for not granting Andhra Pradesh a special package. The TDP then moved a similar no- confidence motion at the Budget session but the Speaker rejected the motion saying that the house was not in order, making it the least productive budget session in last 18 years.

The motion doesn’t endanger Narendra Modi led BJP as it has 273 members in the Lok Sabha but will make a strong case of opposition unity.