BCCI announces 16-member India squad for Asia Cup

BCCI’s selection committee led by MSK Prasad announced the Asia Cup squad in Mumbai on Saturday. India have rested regular skipper Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma will lead the squad. Shikhar Dhawan has been named vice-captain. The tournament will take place in the United Arab Emirates. While India will play their opening game on September 18, the event kicks off on September 15 with Bangladesh squaring off against Sri Lanka. Khaleel Ahmed is the new face in the squad. He is a left-arm medium pacer and opening bowler for India Under-19. He came into the Under-19 World Cup in 2016 with 12 wickets in three innings, including 3 for 29 against Sri Lanka in the final of the Tri-Nation Under-19s tournament in Colombo. Ambati Rayudu also finds a place in the team. Suresh Raina gets the axe, having earlier replaced Rayudu for the England series.