Bangladesh women defeat six time Asian champions India in a last ball thriller

Kaula Lampur (Malaysia):-

Today was a 1983 World Cup dejavu. The perpetual underdogs, India had defeated the mighty WestIndies. The pictures of crowd running into the Lords Stadium is a part of our rich cricket history. Similar scenes were witnessed today. The underdogs Bangladesh defeated six time Asia cup champions India in a nail biting finish by 3 wickets in the T20 finals today.

The Indian Captain, Harmanpreet Kaur bowled the final over. Bangladesh needed 9 of the last over, Rumana Ahmed hit a boundary of the second ball. Sanjida Islam trying to go for the glory shot was caught in the deep. With 2 runs remaining in the last ball, Jahanara Alam hit one to deep mid wicket to squeeze a couple.

Nigar Sultana top scored with 27 runs of 24 balls for Bangladesh. Poonam Yadav picked up 4 wickets while Kaur bagged 2 wickets.

Earlier Indian women were restricted for 112 for the loss of 9 wickets. Harmanpreet Kaur top scored with 56 of 42 balls. Rumana Ahmed and Khadija picked up 2 wickets each.

This is Bangladesh’s maiden Asia Cup trophy. They had earlier defeated India in the qualifying stage which was India’s first ever defeat at the hands of Bangladesh.


Comments are closed.